Of the Night by Bastille out 25th November

Bastille – New Single ‘Of The Night’ out 25 November

Last year I had the pleasure of reviewing the single ‘Flaws’ from a little known band called Bastille. It was love at first listen and you should check out the YouTube video of this great track.  Then they released ‘Pompeii’ and the rest is history.

Bastille have announced their new single Of The Night and album All This Bad Blood, both out 25th November 2013.

Bastille new single Of The Night

Bastille new single Of The Night

Bastille are a record company’s dream as they came with a back catalogue of tracks and this is one of them.  An album full of great tracks and this is one of the very best. It’s a mash up of Snap!’s 90’s hit Rhythm is a Dancer and Corona’s The Rhythm of the Night which first featured on the band’s February 2012 mix tape Other People’s Heartache. Of The Night has since become a live fan favourite with this years festival crowds declaring it one of the stand out tracks of the summer. The dark new video was shot in LA with director Dave Ma (Foals, Ghostpoet, Delphic) and stars veteran actor and fan of the band James Russo (Django Unchained, Donnie Brasco, Once Upon A Time in America).
The original YouTube video set in a masked ball in Venice is also pretty cool. A nice cover that is better than the original.
Lead singer Dan Smith says of the single, “For the mix tapes we covered songs that we remember fondly and re-interpreted them from memory into something we’d want to hear now. I don’t think there’s any point in doing a cover unless you do something interesting with it, change it loads and put your own stamp on it. We had so much fun making those mix tape tracks – doing songs that no one would expect to hear from us and messing around with production. I hope that comes across.”
Of The Night features on the album All This Bad Blood, a 2 x cd set which includes the Bastille‘s Platinum selling No. 1 album Bad Blood alongside a second disc which is divided into two parts. The first half; All This Bad Blood contains tracks old and new which the band recorded over the last few years. The second; Other People’s Heartache presents choice selects from the bands two mix tapes – Other Peoples Heartache Parts 1 and 2incorporating two completely new tracks recorded in the last few weeks.
Dan says, All This Bad Blood feels like a complete representation of what we have done so far and what we’d like to do in the future. The first part allows us to properly release the tracks that we love and play live all the time but couldn’t fit on our proper debut. The second part is a mini version of one of our mix tapes which weaves in a couple of new songs that show the extremes of where we’re heading on our next album; one guitar-driven and the other way more electronic.’

Last month Bastille’s debut album Bad Blood smashed into the U.S Billboard charts at No.11 to become the No.1 debut British album in the U.S in 2013 so far. It was an incredible feat for a band that had only briefly visited the U.S for a few small shows. The band played their first ever North American tour last month, 11 sold out nights at 1000 – 2000 capacity venues. They continue to play sold out shows across the world and in January will visit South Africa for the first time where they will play 3 sold out shows to an audience of 20,000 people.

Single Pompeii continues to be one of the biggest singles of the year with nearly 2 million sales worldwide. The track was recently voted the 2nd best song of the last 5 years by Radio 1 listeners and has had over 40 million video views online.

On Monday of this week Bastille headed out on their third sold out UK tour and recently announced a further tour for early 2014 with a show at London’s Alexandra Palace which sold out in days, over 10,000 tickets shifted 6 months ahead of the event.  As one of the most successful live bands in Britain, Bastille were voted by NME readers as one of their favourite bands to see at this summer’s festivals.

We knew that they were something special last year (Flaws was my favourite video for all my reviews) but their rise since have been amazing. They went from playing at festivals in the small band tents to headlining in just 12 months.

All This Bad Blood Tracklisting;


“Bad Blood”

1. Pompeii

2. Things We Lost in the Fire

3. Bad Blood

4. Overjoyed

5. These Streets

6. Weight of Living, Pt. II

7. Icarus

8. Oblivion

9. Flaws

10. Daniel in the Den

11. Laura Palmer

12. Get Home



“Part I: All This Bad Blood”

1. Poet

2. The Silence

3. Haunt

4. Weight Of Living, Pt. I

5. Sleepsong

6. Durban Skies

7. Laughter Lines

“Part II: Other People’s Heartache”

8. Previously On Other People’s Heartache…

9. Of The Night

10. The Draw

11. What Would You Do

12. Skulls

13. Tuning Out…

UK tour dates as follows;


All 2013 dates sold out and only the following dates available for next year.


27/2 Edinburgh Corn Exchange

4/3 Bournemouth International Centre

By Doug Duffin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s